top of page

Reaction to Evolving Lineup WOA 2022


Wacken Open Air Festival 2022 announced the bands they have playing in lieu of Till Lindemann and other acts that have canceled for various reasons. I experienced immediate disappointment because I will be missing some of my long-time favorites and bands that I was looking forward to seeing in person. I also see opportunity. The benefit in finding bands to fill empty slots is showcasing a wider range of talent who have joined an industry that needs new blood. After experiencing pandemic restrictions, society demands live music. While I recognize that organizing such a large festival requires much more than booking the bands, demand equals opportunities for the acts.


I’m actually thrilled with the new headlining act - Powerwolf, replacing Till Lindemann whom I will not miss completely. Only because I have tickets for Rammstein’s US tour later in the summer. Powerwolf was on my own personal short list of acts I'd like to see (others on my list Amon Amarth and Sabaton, are not slated to play WOA 2022). I have yet to see Powerwolf live. WackenTV showed their 2019 performance during the pandemic. Once I heard ‘Demons are a Girl's Best Friend’ and ‘Amen and Attack’ I was sold.


Ann Wilson of Heart was the next announced performer, looking forward to it, this showcases the rocking diversity of a metal fest. Sure why the hell not! I hope for a killer mosh pit....


Now for a true throwback they've added the NWOBHM band Satan. This is the reason I love European Festivals. Music unites people with a huge swath of music available, the diversity of the lineups can put many other festivals to shame. This year, we will enjoy Manntra (Croation Language/ folk Metal), Bulgaria’s Gwendydd, Cemican from Mexico and many female fronted acts will grace the stage all weekend.


As the lineup appears close to finalization (as well as it can in this day and age), there are numerous acts I’m hoping to see with emphasis on acts I will have a hard time seeing in the states, let alone a rural area, eight hours away from a decent venue. Some shows are must catch, and depends on when they play during the festival. I will absolutely see GWAR for the 35th time and Veronica cannot miss Cirith Ungol. All the bands already named in this article are ones I’d like to catch and this is my short list: Dirkschneider (new album is good), Doyle, Grave Digger, Me and that Man, Mercyful Fate, Moonspell, Orden Ogan, The Rise of Mictlan, Rotting Christ and Varang Nord. I’m trying not to get too excited as who knows what the hell we’ll wake up to tomorrow, but for today I have visions of slam dancing during an Ann Wilson performance.


9 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page