top of page

On Tour Vinyl Score: Star Wars Original Soundtrack

Updated: Jun 27, 2023



Were you alive in 1977? I was and the soundtrack to Star Wars turned me from someone who wasn’t into classical music to a fan of the genre. There are certain movies where the musical score helps elevate the movie; the movie and the music intertwine to send it to a level that could not be achieved without each other. I would also cite the musical score for the movies ‘Jaws’ and ‘Halloween’ as other examples of elevating movies. I remember as a kid wearing down my parents copy of the album from repeated plays.


This spring, I came across this copy Star Wars Original Soundtrack in a collection. I was super excited to see it. As if the vinyl gods were smiling down upon me, it also had the poster that came with it. The previous owner had taken good care of it and the vinyl itself is in great shape with no scratches or marks.


Highlights of the soundtrack for me are: "Main Title," "Imperial Attack," "Inner City," and "Cantina Band." The "Main Title" is an iconic score that is known the world and generations around. "Cantina Band" will get me up and bouncing around the room, the score is almost an ear-worm as it can get stuck in my head for an entire afternoon. "Inner City" takes a ride through the more exciting and serious moments in the movie, helping deliver the emotions from the actor/actress to the movie watcher - not bad for a 70s Sci-Fi film.


A good copy of this Soundtrack can be found for around $20. Condition is critical, so you may pay more for a very good or near mint copy. There are inserts included so if you’re paying top end for a copy, make sure they have them.




Peace,Love and Mosh Pits,

Scott

8 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page