top of page

Easy Rider Soundtrack

Updated: Jun 27, 2023

Easy Rider Soundtrack- Various Artists

Dunhill Easy Rider (Dunhill DSX 50063) Original 1969 Soundtrack LP


The cover shows significant wear and the album has been played heavily; the copy of Easy Rider Soundtrack in my collection is a part of who I am. The record crate in my closet holds treasures from my younger days. I discovered and fell in love with this movie during the 8th grade, which was approximately 15 years after its debut. The movie helped to meld my love of heavy metal and hippie music and unexpectedly created the heavy metal/hippie persona that I have become. Unlike most movies released prior to 1969 with instrumental background, the music for Easy Rider was a blend of contemporary music requiring licensing by the writers/performers.


The second song on the A-side, hard rock anthem “Born to Be Wild” by Steppenwolf needs no introduction and flows into my personal favorite song on the album, “The Weight.” In the movie, the song was performed by The Band, but due to contract issues a cover of the song by Smith is on the album.


The last two songs on the album showcase the lasting impact from Bob Dylan’s songwriting skills with the somber and thought provoking notes of “It’s Alright Ma” and the lines he penned for “Ballad of Easy Rider.” Bob Dylan did not perform the music; his choice was to have Roger McGuinn as the performing artist.


For anyone who enjoys lyrics and great guitar, Jimi Hendrix’s “If 6 was 9” is the second song on the B-side. While this has always been another of my favorites from the album, I also enjoyed the recent cover by Phish that was performed live during their recent Halloween run in Las Vegas.


The third song on the B-Side, makes me want to dance and summons the spirit of what will always feel like New Orleans for me. “Kyrie Eleison” by the Electric Prunes, who were known for haunting psychedelic sounds. The legacy of the 1960s shows up in how well the music captured the various moods and culture of the time and remains relevant today..


The soundtrack and the movie directed by Dennis Hopper and starring Peter Fonda and a very young Jack Nicholson

just create the whole of the experience for me. If you have never seen the movie Easy Rider, I recommend listening to the soundtrack and then seeing the movie to understand the full impact of how the music is an integral piece of movie/music history.


Track Listing

Side A

The Pusher- Steppenwolf

Born to Be Wild- Steppenwolf

The Weight- Smith

I Wasn’t Born to Follow- The Byrds

If You Want to be a Bird- The Holy Modal Rounders


Side B

Don’t Bogart Me- Fraternity of Man

If Six was Nine- Jimi Hendrix

Kyrie Eleison- The Electric Prunes

It’s Alright Ma (I’m only Bleeding)- Roger McGuinn

Ballad of Easy Rider- Roger McGuin


13 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page